Law enforcement officials in California issued more than 57,000 citations for distracted driving in April, which was Distracted Driving Awareness Month, according to KSEE 24 News. The California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) and the California Highway Patrol (CHP) teamed up to target distracted drivers across the state.
“The month of April is behind us, however, distracted driving awareness education and enforcement continues for law enforcement statewide,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow. “Inattention while driving is a dangerous behavior with potentially deadly consequences. Motorists, especially parents with impressionable children in the vehicle, are strongly encouraged to practice safe, legal driving behaviors. Lives depend on it.”
Experts recommend placing your phone in your trunk or glove box while you are driving. It is tempting to send a quick text message or even just read one at a stoplight—but it is a slippery slope. The distracted driving numbers are actually down about 10 percent from the same month last year.
“We are very encouraged to see the usage figures decline, especially after the increase last year,” said OTS Director Christopher Murphy. “But any number is too high, since any usage of cell phones while driving takes away too much of our brain’s ability to react to what’s happening on the road, not to mention when our hands or eyes are disengaged also.”
There is more information on distracted driving and car accidents available on our website. Please contact our firm for a free consultation if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident.
Tip of the week: Fines for distracted driving in California start at $162 for a first time offense, then $285 for subsequent offenses.
Dudek Law Firm APC—San Diego car accident attorney